11 Plus course11 Plus Course

Preparing for the 11 Plus

One to One 11+ courses

BSE Beaconsfield specialises in One to One courses (private tuition) for the Buckinghamshire and Slough Consortium 11 Plus tests. The 11 Plus test provider for Bucks schools is GL Assessment®. The Slough Consortium 11 Plus Tests are provided by CEM.

The 11 Plus courses are designed for children in Year 5. They cover all areas of the 11 Plus - Verbal Reasoning, Non-Verbal Reasoning, Spatial Reasoning, English and Maths. We provide One to One lessons as we believe that, for some children, this is the  most effective form of 11 Plus tuition. Private tuition enables the 11 Plus tutor to identify strengths and weaknesses, and to pinpoint areas in need of improvement. Some children also find it easier to concentrate in a One to One lesson than in a group lesson.

The weekly 11 Plus lessons are 75 minutes long, enabling students to focus on timed 11 Plus practice exercises for an extended period of time. Homework is set after every lesson and is an integral part of the course. Parents support their child by ensuring that homework is completed and that records of work are well organised and maintained.

The academic standard of the 11 Plus test is to some extent aligned to the National Curriculum. To score well in the Verbal Reasoning sections of the test, however, a more extensive knowledge of vocabulary, grammar and syntax is highly desirable.

The 11 Plus course helps pupils develop their knowledge of vocabulary and related study skills. These include:

  • understanding the meaning of words in isolation and in context
  • understanding the meaning of fixed phrases
  • developing the accurate reading of individual words
  • developing knowledge of synonyms and antonyms
  • developing knowledge of closed form compound words (e.g. barrow, outlet, evergreen)
  • developing knowledge of homophones and homonyms (e.g. stationary / stationery)
  • developing knowledge of idioms and collocations
  • developing syntactical awareness
  • developing accurate spelling
  • recognising vocabulary used in formal / informal contexts
  • highlighting pronunciation features
  • developing dictionary and other study skills

View sample 11 Plus Verbal Reasoning, Non-Verbal Reasoning and Maths practice questions:



The 11 Plus course starts two weeks after the Bucks CC schools start back in in September. The course dates then closely match the Bucks CC school term dates. There are three terms  - the Autumn Term, Spring Term and Summer Term. 

Course Dates 2019-20

11 Plus Spring Term 2019:
w/b Monday, 07 January, 2019 - Saturday, 16 February, 2019 (6 weeks)
w/b Monday, 25 February, 2019 - Saturday 06 April, 2019 (6 weeks)

11 Plus Summer Term 2019:
w/b Monday, 22 April, 2019 - Saturday, 25 May, 2019 (5 weeks)
w/b Monday, 03 June, 2019 - Saturday, 13 July, 2019 (6 weeks)

11 Plus Autumn Term 2019
w/b Monday, 16 September, 2019 - Saturday, 26 October, 2019 (6 weeks)
w/b Monday, 04 November, 2019 - Saturday, 14 December, 2019 (6 weeks)

11 Plus Spring Term 2020
w/b Monday, 06 January, 2020 - Saturday, 15 February, 2020 (6 weeks)
w/b Monday, 24 February, 2020 - Saturday 04 April, 2020 (6 weeks)

11 Plus Summer Term 2020
w/b Monday, 20 April, 2020 - Saturday, 23 May, 2020 (5 weeks)
w/b Monday, 01 June, 2020 - Saturday, 11 July, 2020 (6 weeks)

Please see our Fees page for the latest fees. Fees for the 11 Plus course are payable termly in advance. There is a one-off non-refundable Registration Fee of £50. There is also a non-refundable £200 Course Reservation Fee, which is set against the first term's tuition fee. There are no lessons on Public Bank Holidays.


11 Plus Learning Resources



Top of Page

Beaconsfield school
© BSE Beaconsfield 2018. All rights reserved.